Introducing a wonderful Artist I just found out about: Tara Leaver, from Brighton, UK

Just two days ago, I had read an article forwarded by Portland-based artist Flora Bowley (see previous posts) about Art and Healing. It was written by an Artist in the UK and touched the Topic Art and Healing (which is pretty much the reason I am going to study Art Therapy).

Here is what she says about herself in her about-section                                                                       on www.taraleaver.com

I always loved art, creating things with my hands.

Moving to Brighton from London in 2008 marked a turning point for me creatively, and led to copious amounts of paintings, exhibitions {sometimes}, my blog and now a book and Creative Spark Sessions {coming very soon!}.

I like to investigate all sorts of media and techniques, but my favourite is mixed media for its layers and textures. I often use combinations of papers, stamps, pens, pencils, oil pastels, charcoal and paint glazes. I love the idea of hidden or partly obscured elements, drawing you in as you step closer to see the details. I also like to use text in my paintings; words and their different uses and meanings continually intrigue me and I like to include them as another layer to each piece.

As a Reiki master I am increasingly interested in incorporating healing into my work, something which is evolving the more I work with energy. I usually work intuitively, allowing a painting to tell me what it needs without any formal planning.

I place great emphasis on the aesthetic impact of each finished piece as well as its meaning; of course each painting has a personal meaning to me, but I hope that you as the viewer will enjoy it in whatever way satisfies you most.´”

http://taraleaver.com/gallery/

IMG_1777 (800x385)One of her paintings, all shades of blue-turquoise (feast to my eyes, it is!) is called “Rise” (showing a Lotus flower), to me a perfect painting in every possbile way, composition, message, meaning, colours… and made me get the sketchbook out and doodle a bit. To be continued 🙂

Besides the artwork, which is so expressive by itself, I feel like mentioning how much I can relate to Tara’s Approach to/ conviction of Art and Healing, she stresses the healing power of artmaking. Something I cannot stop talking about (in case you haven’t noticed, haha)

Here’s a blog post about her experience on Soul Art Day – worth reading!

http://taraleaver.com/2013/05/using-art-for-healing/

Categories: Art, colours, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Introducing a wonderful Artist I just found out about: Tara Leaver, from Brighton, UK

  1. Pingback: “Soul poetry”: even more reasons why I am happy having discovered Tara Leaver’s inspiration! What a treasure / Noch mehr Gründe, warum, ich froh bin, Tara Leaver’s Inspirationen entdeckt zu haben. Was für Gaben!! | nicseventysix&

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

cyincerelyyours

Where craftiness and fun collide!

Carpe Diem

One Woman's Quest for a Life Fully Lived

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Elly MacKay Theater Clouds

Paper theatre by Elly MacKay

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

bellamuse101's Blog

A great WordPress.com site

Soul Boheme

Amateur artist.....Be it with colors, textures or food!!.... Amateur Writer.... Amateur Photographer..... Kathak dance aficionado.... Spiritualist....Reiki Master.....

In Flow

Creativity is within us all

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

ART FOR NOTHING

As you start to walk out on the way, the way appears

Michelle GD

photography and writing...and tiny moments

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

livingforcreativity

Living a life of creativity, via music, books and films.

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

Photopane

by Craig Strachan

