The August Break – Day # 9 – “taste”

 

It’s interesting, isn’t it, how we are all able to gather a sense of taste by perceiving a visual imput. (the psychology-neurology-intested parts of my personality speaking there…) Today’s photo is not just a random photo hopefully turning out nice. It’s got several meanings. First of all, this morning, I took time to sit on a sunny bench and read passages of Susannah Conway‘s wonderful book “This I know” …and by coincidence (or not 🙂 ) reading a passage which deals with yummy tasty Food.

This made me go to a bio-deli-store today to get my lunch organized. I love my summer break for this – spontaneously getting off to do something like just getting good food at the other end of the town 🙂

The lunch I got simply consisted of some good bread (French Baguette called “Bonjour”, if that isn’t promising, eh?), prosciutto crudo, peppers filled with cream cheese, a little bit of parmiggiano reggiano.

Lately I find myself reflecting on the impact travelling has had on me. The very very first, so top 1 of all countries I have felt most at home, is CANADA. There I travelled 4200 km between Toronto and Gaspé and back in several loops, plus staying a fantastic week in Toronto and wondering if I should maybe burn my return ticket. 🙂 As a friend and I were lucky to rent a mobile home we kind of had “simple cuisine” for almost a month. I LOVED it. Loved it! A sandwich with cream cheese and fresh tomato: best food ever. Not to speak of little pancakes with regional maple syrup or spontaneous bbq’s with  co-campers and crazy salads along with grilled cod. Bliss. 

What is stuck with me is the very deep love for Canada and also the love for the quality of simple food. By simple food I mean fresh food without fancy stuff. Fresh tomatoes with freshly ground pepper, an apricot, eating a pink Grapefruit, a fresh apple as a snack while sitting at Lake Ontario..

The slovenian people (I stayed in the Triglav National Park, not too different from Canadian landscapes by the way) are known to have a lifestyle of “enjoying slow food”. Little bits of yummy veggies, herbs, spices, olive oil, a good piece of bread. there you go. sit, enjoy and eat for at least two hours, mindfully appreciating the fresh taste.

The people in Greece are very good in pulling off the slow food appreciation, too, they are some of the most accomplished ones. And I hope it rubbed off on me. So,  to make a long story short, of course I didn’t go travelling only because of the food, but food sure is something very typical, something your senses can grasp, while travelling, some way to sense the culture and mood of the areas through which you’re travelling. (by the way, canadian Readers: I also had Poutine! it wasn’t too much my taste because of the cheese but I had to have it. All Canadians told me I had to. 🙂 )

Here’s to simplicity of meals – preferredly enjoyed from eco-bio sources. 

 

mediterranean lunch

mediterranean lunch

 

http://susannahconway.com/

http://www.tnp.si/national_park/

Categories: colours, food, life, nature, photo blogging, photography, The August Break, travelling, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The August Break – Day # 9 – “taste”

  1. Sherry Smyth

    That looks fabulous…I love the composition…and I’ll bet it tasted amazing. Yes, Canadians will say “try poutine” — I can’t stand it! lol! My younger son? Loves the stuff…go figure. We are blessed here in Canada with fresh food and summer is the best time for eating tomatoes off the vine with a bit of salt and pepper…a tomato sandwich on white bread with some s&p and a little mayo is a slice of heaven. Peaches, corn on the cob, apples, plums, cherries…new potatoes in the summer boiled with some butter and s&p — simple food yes, but amazing! As for travel and food…it’s a large part of the experience…you were talking at the start of your post about visual and sensory pleasures…food ranks right up there!

  2. Hey! It’s been a while.

    You would love to try all the food in India! You’re not always sure what’s in front of you, but it almost always tastes good. =)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

cyincerelyyours

Where craftiness and fun collide!

Carpe Diem

One Woman's Quest for a Life Fully Lived

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Elly MacKay

Wonders from a world inside a paper theatre

bellamuse101's Blog

A great WordPress.com site

Soul Boheme

Amateur artist.....Be it with colors, textures or food!!.... Amateur Writer.... Amateur Photographer..... Kathak dance aficionado.... Spiritualist....Reiki Master.....

In Flow

Creativity is within us all

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

ART FOR NOTHING

As you start to walk out on the way, the way appears

Michelle GD

{Michelle GD} writing and photography and tiny moments

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

livingforcreativity

Living a life of creativity, via music, books and films.

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

Photopane

by Craig Strachan

