The August Break – Day # 12 – “far away”

First of all, dear Co-August-Breakers and all the observers of the Photography Project, I want to ask you :

Is it just me, or are we all getting even more into it, I dare to say even more philosophical, after about one and a half week with Susannah Conway‘s wonderful prompt list?

Look at all the meanings “far away” can have. Far away as a song title, far away in time, … (dear Sherry and Sherry..)

I chose the meaning “far away in kilometres but close to my heart” and by this outstandingly wonderful landscapes and the turquoise-ish water of the Aegaeis around Lesbos, Greece. Two friends and I met in Wuppertal on Saturday, the three of us have been there last year in summer and seriously think  about going back to the very village in the North of the island next year.

On this hike, the Little Island called "Rabbit Island" seemed unknown and far away back at this Point. Now it is a spot close to my heart and in my daydreams.

On this hike, the Little Island called “Rabbit Island” seemed unknown and far away back at this Point. Now it is a spot close to my heart and in my daydreams.

At the horizon you can see Turkey. On another note. This was the view from our dinner table in the wonderful Taverna in Eftalou

At the horizon you can see Turkey. On another note. This was the view from our dinner table in the wonderful Taverna in Eftalou

This wonderful ocean does seem far away for someone whose elment is most definitely water.

This wonderful ocean does seem far away for someone whose favourite element is most definitely water.

Categories: colours, life, nature, photo blogging, photography, The August Break, travelling, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “The August Break – Day # 12 – “far away”

  1. It is actually Day # 12. The editing fairies on WordPress didn’t seem to have mercy on me ^^ .. oh well.

  2. At least in the Reader it always says Day # 11. It does make me a Little crazy. But well…if there is nothing else to worry about…:) 🙂

  3. Sherry Smyth

    I think we all have the eye and the creativity to see these prompts in different ways. I know that song was my first and strongest thought, but I also thought about people who are far away and as you went with, places that are far away — but that we hold close to our heart! xo

  4. It’s funny, I also thought about the Carol King song (a fave I share with Sherry!) and the meaning that you chose — far away but close to my heart. I went with the concept of time because I had just found a special old polaroid and I was nostalgic. But I too have places like you do that I want to return to and my favorite element is water as well. I’ve never been to Greece but I can sure understand the attraction. Lovely photos. Put them on your vision board and you’re bound to return 😉

    • Vision Board… there you’re reminding me of something lovely. It’s cloudy, cool and rainy here and I am sorting my “visual material” anyway, trying to organize it for collages and mixed media. I think it’d be nice to craft a new Vision board. Thanks a whole lot for the reminder, Sherry! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

cyincerelyyours

Where craftiness and fun collide!

Carpe Diem

One Woman's Quest for a Life Fully Lived

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Elly MacKay

Wonders from a world inside a paper theatre

bellamuse101's Blog

A great WordPress.com site

Soul Boheme

Amateur artist.....Be it with colors, textures or food!!.... Amateur Writer.... Amateur Photographer..... Kathak dance aficionado.... Spiritualist....Reiki Master.....

In Flow

Creativity is within us all

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

ART FOR NOTHING

As you start to walk out on the way, the way appears

Michelle GD

{Michelle GD} writing and photography and tiny moments

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

livingforcreativity

Living a life of creativity, via music, books and films.

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

Photopane

by Craig Strachan

