The season of books… the very, very season of books I mean. Recommendations very welcome!

IMG_1878 (565x640)

Cover of "84, Charing Cross Road"

On a Monday which was very much like its reputation …(you bet) – and facing an intense Tuesday .. I am dreaming of my tea- or coffeescented Loggia, the sunshine, the armchair and…books. Piles of them. Well, there is the perspective of a national Holiday on Thursday – so no reason to complain.

Who of you knows this feeling that Special books are for special seasons? I have posted about books and autumn before…and Helene Hanff, being mentioned in this other post, says herself in “Letter from New York” that october is the season to find yourself new books.

Shakespeare and Company

Shakespeare and Company (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There’s one other Quote I really adore – it’s by Helene Hanff as well, from 84, Charing Cross Road:

I do love secondhand books that open to the page some previous owner read oftenest. The day Hazlitt came he opened to “I hate to read new books,” and I hollered “Comrade!” to whoever owned it before me.”                
—                   Helene Hanff                  (84, Charing Cross Road)

In Autumn, more than in any other season, my books have to be all about atmosphere. The colours and pictures in my imaginations while reading the book kind of have to match the outside world. Yes, I might have a certain nerd-factor… haha, and I can live with it.

Books which – so far – match this, are (hooorray, an excuse to write a list ; ) )

 – Letter from New York, Helene Hanff (very surprisingly)

-The Time Traveller’s Wife, Audrey Niffenegger

-The unlikely pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Rachel Joyce

-A Monster Calls, Ness, Patrick and Siobhan Dowd

-Fool On The Hill, Matt Ruff

-Cookbooks with soup recipes

-Cookbooks like those by Cynthia Barcomi

-This I know, Susannah Conway

-The Hobbit …well you know by whom 🙂

-Narcissus and Goldmund, Hermann Hesse,

-“Liebesnähe” by Hanns-Josef Ortheil, not available in English yet

– lots of non-fiction books by Jon Kabat-Zinn, Thich Nhat Hanh and Matthias Ennenbach about Buddhism, mindfulness, buddhistic psychology…

 

Now you. Anything to recommend? I am listening. 🙂  Do you have favourite autumn reads? my shelf isn’t breaking yet. (yet)  

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The season of books… the very, very season of books I mean. Recommendations very welcome!

  1. So many books, so little time, as it seems. Hope you find inspiration and joy in them. I’m a slow learner and just keep re-reading the same mindful books.

  2. I have hundreds of books waiting for me on my shelves (!) and then I go to the bookstore and get some more. I was at Chapter’s on the weekend looking for a book and the salesperson made a strong case for a book called Three Souls. So I bought it and started reading. So far, so good. Forget the author’s name….

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

cyincerelyyours

Where craftiness and fun collide!

Carpe Diem

One Woman's Quest for a Life Fully Lived

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Elly MacKay Theater Clouds

Paper theatre by Elly MacKay

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

bellamuse101's Blog

A great WordPress.com site

Soul Boheme

Amateur artist.....Be it with colors, textures or food!!.... Amateur Writer.... Amateur Photographer..... Kathak dance aficionado.... Spiritualist....Reiki Master.....

In Flow

Creativity is within us all

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

ART FOR NOTHING

As you start to walk out on the way, the way appears

Michelle GD

photography and writing...and tiny moments

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

livingforcreativity

Living a life of creativity, via music, books and films.

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

Photopane

by Craig Strachan

