Sunshine in my heart – thanks to a wonderful blog-friend and her nomination of the sunshine award

When in this year’s April I started Blogging, I had no idea how much fun it would be, how many wonderful connections there would grow and how interesting and inspiring the exchange with like-minded People would be. Generally I wasn’t sure if Blogging would work for me.

Not only does it work, but it really has become something I very much enjoy doing and which adds up so well to my interests such as photography, mindfulness, life..in General, buddhism, psychology, Meditation, artmaking, creativity, Music, enjoying some sort of simplicity Lifestyle…and and and so much more 🙂

To me personally it’s not actually not too surprising that one of my deaerst Blogger friends here on wordpress is from Canada (simply because I wonder if I have been a Canadian in another life, and maybe lived in Toronto or Ottawa, pretty much the only cities in the world where I didn’t get lost so far, besides my hometown….^^)

Sherry Galey, who nominated me for the Sushine Award, and I met here on wordpress through our mutual love for photography and generally what I’d like to call a “contemplative mind set”.. (I hope this works for you, Sherry)

I so admire her blog posts, they warm me from the inside and there have been quite a few days yet when looking at one of her posts with those outstanding photos have accompanied me all day, or inspired me for a photo-stroll or a graphite-pencil drawing.

So:

Thank you so much, Sherry !!

I humbly and thankfully accept this wonderful Award.

sunshine-award

As part of the Award Sherry has come up with 10 questions she is asking the nominees. Here they are (and I like what you came up with, Sherry!)

1 If you could learn one skill that you’ve never had, what would it be, and why?

Hard one, I guess it’d be to be way way better in hanging up Picture Frames. My dearies always say “nice Picture- but what happened to the Frame?” ; ) This and being less afraid of technical things around the household. Repairing things in the household and all this. Why? Because – for the Pictures – I love it being not too sloped – it sure is nicer. I just have hard times taking care of it myself ^^. And as for the repairing …I like being Independent.

2 What do you love more taking photographs or writing? 

Tough choice! It very much depends on my mood and the circumstances. I often have the camera with me as well as a bunch of pens and at least one Notebook.

3 Are you an extrovert or an introvert? 

Definitely an introvert!

4 Do you have a fear that you have not yet conquered?

Yes.

5 Do you have a dream you’ve suppressed due to life commitments?  

A sabbatical – preferredly in Canada. It’s not off the list yet though. 🙂

6 Are you a night owl or a morning person?

Very cleary a Morning (-Meditation) Person.

7 What book has made a huge impact on you?

Definitely – about 2 years ago – I read “Buddhistische Psychotherapie” (buddhistic psychotherapy) by a very talented psychologist/psychotherapist from Bielefeld who links Western therapy methods with Basic Buddhist teachings in a very effective, unique, mindful way.

“Tuesdays with Morrie” – after dealing with a personal loss which was quite a bit to handle.

  8 If you could travel to any place in Canada, where would it be? 

Well, starting in Toronto (and taking my longboard this time!!  at least partly) and strolling around with the camera for weeks, going towards Lake Ontario, for example Coburg, up to Québec, Forillon National Park (L’Anse au Griffon) then back to Ottawa, staying there again for a couple weeks, strolling, Tim Horton’s hopping :), going to the Gatineau Park, and of course spending lots of time at Byward Market!

9 What qualities most touch you in a person? 

Compassion and a good sense of humour touch me very much, as well as sensitivity, and being able to commit to the things they love. I also love a certain kind of “keeping it simple”, I love when People are able to enjoy a Cup of tea and see beauty in everyday things. I find a certain degree of “craziness” appealing, too.

10 What do you do when inspiration to create leaves you?

though one. I am doing my best to follow the advise of Tara Leaver, who suggests to bake or cook something. This enables you mostly to follow a recipe but yet you are creating something. So, mostly it turns out to be cooking a soup. 🙂

 

Part of accepting the Award is to nominate 10 People, drop them a lovely comment about them being nominated for the Sunshine Award on their Blogs and post their names and the links of their Blogs in my post

Dear nominees, if you like to accept your Award, this is how you go about it. 🙂

1. Include the award logo in a post or on your blog.

2. Link to the person who nominated you.

3. Answer 10 questions about yourself and write 10 questions for your nominees to answer.

4. Nominate 10 bloggers to receive the award. Link your nominees to the post and comment on their blogs, letting them know they have been nominated.

Here are ten People, whose blog posts inspire and amaze me again and again. Thanks to you guys for that!

  1. Lijuin – http://lijiun.wordpress.com/
  2. Cristina Reyeros of Ambition in the City: http://ambitioninthecity.com/
  3. Sarah G. of centered Spirit: http://centeredspirit.wordpress.com/
  4. The guys of kindnessblog: http://kindnessblog.com/
  5. David N. of course: http://smilecalm.wordpress.com/
  6. Dennis Cardiff of Gotta Find a Home: http://gottafindahome.wordpress.com/
  7. Charlotte of the wonderful blog strictlyholistic: http://strictlyholistic.com/
  8. Karl Duffy of Mindfulbalance: www.mindfulbalance.org
  9. Michelle http://michellegd.com/
  10. Iceland Penny  from http://icelandpenny.wordpress.com/

Soooo, dear nominees, here are the question I came up with:

  1. What’s your favourite place to be?
  2. Do you play an Instrument, if yes, which one?
  3. If you did a sabbatical, what would you do or where would you go?
  4. What is creativity for you?
  5. Do you like to write handwritten letters, journals and notes, and if yes, why?
  6. Do you have a Motto or a theme song?
  7. Do you have a favourite, Kind of “lift-me-up-quote”?
  8. Do you do any kind of Meditation practice?
  9. Which song, book or film sticks with you for a Long while already?
  10. Which is your favourite kind of landscape? The sea, mountains, Woods or something else? Do have a preferation at all?

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Sunshine in my heart – thanks to a wonderful blog-friend and her nomination of the sunshine award

  1. You’re a sweetheart, Nic, and I thank you for saying those nice things about my blog. I bet you WERE a Canadian in a previous life ;-). I’m keeping my fingers crossed that you can get a sabbatical so that I can show you around my part of the world even more — which you already know and like a lot! We could discuss Buddhism and mindfulness and photography and even be a little crazy together. I love the way you answered the questions. On #10 I do that too, but I never thought of it that way! I look forward to checking out the blogs you nominated. I’m sure there’s a treasure trove there to discover.

    • Sherry, thank YOU for the Nomination and for this amazing comment here! Yes, so we are both sure I have been Canadian in a previous life 🙂 …. Sabbatical or not, I will be back to Canada and hope to meet you and discuss, go to places… all the things we have in common!
      more to come in a private fb message later this saturday.
      xxx nic

  2. Hi Love,

    Thank you so much for your kind words. I will definitely accept this lovely award and look forward to answering all your great questions. You made my week! Thanks again. 🙂

    • Awww, Cristina, I am happy you liked the Nomination and that you are going to accept it! I am very much looking Forward to reading your answers to the questions (honestly I liked Sherry Galey’s questions so much that it was hard to come up with clever ones..) talk soon – have a lovely Weekend, dear.
      xxx Nic

  3. oh, nic, thank you for this sweet gesture!!
    i loved reading your responses to sherry’s questions 🙂

  4. Pingback: A place in the sun | strictly holistic

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

cyincerelyyours

Where craftiness and fun collide!

Carpe Diem

One Woman's Quest for a Life Fully Lived

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Elly MacKay

Wonders from a world inside a paper theatre

bellamuse101's Blog

A great WordPress.com site

Soul Boheme

Amateur artist.....Be it with colors, textures or food!!.... Amateur Writer.... Amateur Photographer..... Kathak dance aficionado.... Spiritualist....Reiki Master.....

In Flow

Creativity is within us all

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

ART FOR NOTHING

As you start to walk out on the way, the way appears

Michelle GD

{Michelle GD} writing and photography and tiny moments

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

livingforcreativity

Living a life of creativity, via music, books and films.

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

Photopane

by Craig Strachan

